Happy Birthday to me!

large

I turn 30 today and I can’t even tell you the amount of times I’ve had people make a huge deal out of this impending shift into a new decade.

But why do we have such an aversion to ending our 20s? What about 30 is so scary?

As for me my 20s were Beautiful! Really Beautiful!

To me, turning 30 is exciting. I know who I am, I know what I want out of life and for the most part, I’ve figured out how to get there. It’s not even about accomplishments; married or not, children or none, career or still figuring it out – it’s about self-realization and being able to say, “Hey, you- I love you!” to that reflection in the mirror. Accepting myself has been the hardest journey of all, and although I’m not there yet, I’m a heck of a lot closer than I was at 21.

tumblr_ljfy7ehgeF1qe6leno1_400_large

And the best part? I’m at a point where I fully realize that I am the master of my own destiny.  I’ve grown up and away from blaming others for my mistakes or unhappiness. I’ve learned that I can look to no one else when I fail or succeed. It’s all me. And I now know that it’s futile to try to live up to anyone else’s idea of success or happiness. This is my one life, and I’m sure as hell not going to waste it trying to people-please. Everyone will always have an opinion, but unlike my 20-something self, my 30 self now knows to take what others say with a grain of salt. I will never be able to please ‘em all. Each individual in this wide, wide world has an idea of what living this life is to them, and my choices will always, always go against someone’s, somehow.

tumblr_ml8em2SdoY1qe292jo1_500

My 30s are a time for taking care of myself and being healthy.  It’s about being kind. It’s about looking back at the beautiful naivety of my 20s with humor and acceptance, and realizing that it’s all brought me to this very moment.

tumblr_mse2udA6uG1sd0hjpo1_500

And so I welcome in this next decade. I’m excited. Bring out the party hats, the noise makers, put up the streamers and blow up the balloons! I want to live this one life of mine- and at the end of my journey I want to look back down the road and feel a sense of pride and accomplishment that I truly did.

So bring it on! I’m ready. Happy 30th birthday to me!

One thought on “Happy Birthday to me!

Leave a Reply

